I Wish…

I have a bit of a confession to make. I wish more Christians cared enough about their own faith to learn as much as they can about it. I wish that Christians would take the opportunity of attending Bible study at Sunday School or Midweek service or wherever they have the opportunity to do so. I wish, honestly, that Christians cared enough about what God wished them to know (as he reveals it through Scripture) that they took the time to study that Scripture.

After all, when someone plays a sport they spend an awful lot of time learning the rules of that sport and how to play it to the best of their ability. I wonder why so many Christians don’t feel the same about their faith? Why can literally dozens of hours a week be devoted to practice for basketball or football or baseball or whatever while a mere hour a week is too much to ask for participation in study of the Bible?

Oh, I know the answer. And it’s a simple one. Many, many Christians care more about their hobbies and interests than they do their faith. As long as they feel fairly certain that they’ll ‘go to heaven’ they’re ok with knowing virtually nothing about what Scripture says. But such believers are robbing themselves of a deeper relationship with God and a better understanding of their own God given gifts and ministries.

I have another confession to make. I don’t understand Christians who have time for everything but worship and Bible study. I don’t know why they don’t treasure Scripture nor the presence of God in their lives through worship and study. I just don’t ‘get it’. If I had the chance to do what mattered most to me most of all I would take every chance I got to do it. And, at the end of the day, I suppose that’s exactly what most Christians do.

A friend of mine was skipping church one week when he ran into the Pastor on his way to Church. He sheepishly said ‘I won’t be there today, Pastor’. His Pastor replied, ‘ah, buy you ARE attending YOUR church…’ I think he made his point. We love what we worship.

I wish more Christians cared enough about their own faith to learn as much as they can about it. I wish…

Author: Jim

I am a Pastor, and Lecturer in Church History and Biblical Studies at Ming Hua Theological College.

Leave a Reply

